Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Texas A&M to compete in the Southwest Conference

College Station, TX - Texas A&M was welcomed into the Southwest College Rugby Conference (SWC) tonight in a e-mail from Commissioner Clayton Jewett. The 2014 SWC consists of six teams playing five matches in October and November with the top two teams eligible to compete in the ACRC playoff structure.

Rice University, Stephen F. Austin State University, Texas A&M, Texas State, the University of Houston and the University of North Texas each possess decades of rivalries with each other. A&M's Director of Rugby, Craig Coates acknowledged this by stating, "Texas A&M Rugby appreciates the opportunity to play in the SWC and looks forward to renewing several historical rivalries on the field." Jewett hailed the moment saying, "Craig and I are both excited about this development and we believe it is a good partnership that will benefit both the Southwest Conference and the Texas A&M team."

Coates confirmed that A&M is committed to play in the Red River College Rugby Conference and will honor that commitment. The move to play in two conferences is justified by the sheer number of rugby players that Texas A&M expects to field this year. Coates thinks that it is imperative that every rugger gets plenty of meaningful match time, as well as the opportunity for rest and rehabilitation.

No comments:

Post a Comment